Coconut Porter

This is an open forum to discuss all things that just might be on your mind.

Moderators: Post Moderators, Cheers Moderator

Clivefrog

Coconut Porter

Post by Clivefrog »

I'm a beginner brewer and want to brew a toasted coconut porter. By beginner, I mean extract only. I have never brewed a dark beer (only brewed a pale ale and an American IPA before) and don't know the specifics when it comes to "[x]-hopping" whether it be hops or coconut or M&Ms. I kinda wish I had dry-hopped my IPA with an ounce or two of Centennials.... oh well.

Anyways, I assume you add the coconut after the initial brewing process. I usually order my ingredients online (any recommendations on a homebrew supply shop near Costa Mesa?). Should I just buy a regular porter extract kit and purchase some coconut flakes at a grocery store? How much (poundage) coconut should I add to a 5-gallon batch to make the taste noticeable but not overpowering? I did some rapid googling and saw that toasting the coconut, usually by sticking them on a cookie sheet and placing them in the oven for a few minutes, is the way to do it. Then add the toasted coconut flakes into the fermenter like I would dry-hop?

If anyone has any information they can provide me with, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Rezzin

Re: Coconut Porter

Post by Rezzin »